Gmail adds "Undo Send" option for users

Comments
shutterstock_284754365

It happens to the best of us — selecting the wrong recipient after typing up that detailed and important email is a common mistake.

Google has saved the day by announcing an “Undo Send” feature in Gmail.

This life-saving option is available to Gmail users, but it must be manually enabled. In the “general” tab of your settings, you will now find the “Undo Send” option. You only need to enable it once for the option to be activated on your account.

Screen Shot 2015-06-23 at 1.03.22 PM

Image: Gmail screenshot

From there, you can indicate how long you want to give yourself the choice to undo an email — between five and 30 seconds. For example, if you select 30 seconds, the “Undo” button will appear on the top of your screen for half a minute before sending an email. If no action is taken, the email will be sent.

Google has been experimenting with this option since 2009. It was accessible to use in the Labs section of Gmail, with many users using the feature while Google performed its testing. It has only now been added to all users’ accounts. Google’s email app, Inbox, will also feature this new setting.

Around the Web

About the author

Author Avatar
Behdad Mahichi is currently an Editorial Assistant at Vancity Buzz and a journalism student at Ryerson University. He writes about anything from entertainment and politics to his misfortunately extreme caffeine addiction.
@bmahichi

Facebook Conversations

BACK TO TOP
BACK TO TOP